Posted by Joanne Dahlen on Jul 05, 2017

The Mayor's Cup Regatta & Festival Committee is pleased to announce that Janet Duprey has been named the 2017 "Spirit of Ianelli" Award honoree.


The "Spirit of Ianelli" Award was established in 2010 in honor of the late Mayor John Ianelli, former Mayor of the City of Plattsburgh and co-founder of the Mayor’s Cup Regatta in 1977. This honor is bestowed upon an individual – sailor or landlubber – who exemplifies the same “community does matter” spirit that inspired Mayor Ianelli 38 years ago, empowering our lake community to thrive, not only on race day, but every day.


Janet Duprey began her political career at the age of 29 and was the first woman elected to the Clinton County Legislature, on which she served for 10 years before being elected Clinton County Treasurer, a position she held for over 20 years. She was a member of the New York State Assembly for 10 years and announced her retirement from political office in 2016 at the age of 70. Sunrise Rotary President James Snook said that Janet Duprey was a terrific choice for the 2017 award and commented that Janet has worked tirelessly to represent the ’spirit’ of the North Country in Albany. 


 Mayor Read said that he looked forward to the award ceremony and thought that honoring Janet Duprey with the “Spirit of Ianelli” award was very fitting and well-deserved. “I recall that when Janet decided not to run for a sixth term in the Assembly the local media summed up Janet’s legacy perfectly when they said that her winning combination of passion, pragmatism and honesty had served the people of her district well,” said Mayor Read. “I’m grateful for Janet’s exemplary public service.”


 The “Spirit of Ianelli” Award Ceremony will take place at 6:00pm, immediately following the Mayor’s Cup Regatta BBQ, on Saturday afternoon, July 8, 2017 at the Naked Turtle restaurant at the Plattsburgh Boat Basin.


The past honorees of the "Spirit of Ianelli" Award include:

2016 – Gordie Little

2015-  Local Law Enforcement

2014 – Kit and Sally Booth

2013 - Bob Wallet

2012 – Roger Harwood

2011 – Matt Spiegel

2010 – Bob Pooler