The 39th Annual Mayor’s Cup Regatta & Festival will honor the 2016 recipient of the “Spirit of Ianelli” Award on Saturday, July 9, 2016, and the Mayor's Cup Regatta & Festival Committee is currently seeking nominations from the community for this prestigious award.
What is the “Spirit of Ianelli” Award?
The "Spirit of Ianelli" Award was established in 2010 in honor of the late Mayor John Ianelli, former Mayor of the City of Plattsburgh and co-founder of the Mayor’s Cup Regatta in 1977. This honor is bestowed upon one individual – sailor or landlubber – who exemplifies the same “community does matter” spirit that inspired Mayor Ianelli 39 years ago, empowering our lake community to thrive, not only on race day, but every day.
Past Honorees
The past honorees of the "Spirit of Ianelli" Award include:
  • 2015 – Local Law Enforcement of Clinton County, NY
  • 2014 – Kit and Sally Booth
  • 2013 - Bob Wallet
  • 2012 – Roger Harwood
  • 2011 – Matt Spiegel
  • 2010 – Bob Pooler
 2016 Nominees
To be considered, please forward your nomination no later than Friday, June 24th to . Include your name and phone number, as well as, your nominee’s name, address, and phone number, and provide specific examples that illustrate their community spirit and dedication to our great lake.
Award Presentation
The “Spirit of Ianelli” Award will be presented at 6:00pm on Saturday, July 9, 2016, at the Mayor’s Cup Regatta & Festival Awards ceremony held at the Naked Turtle, Dock Street, Plattsburgh, NY. The awards ceremony, and a BBQ ($15 per person) that precedes the awards ceremony, are open to the public.